Bratislava in Slovakia

Bratislava / Bratislava Region / Bratislava District / Slovakia

Celts, Romans, Avars, Germans, Magyars, Jews and Slovacs were the most influential ethnic groups in the history of the Slovakian capital of Bratislava. The eventful history as the capital city of the Kingdom of Hungary (1536-1783 and 1848), as capital city of the first Slovakian Republic (1939-1945), as the capital city of the Slovak Socialist Republic (SSR 1968), Czechoslovakia (1990-1992) and finally as the capital city of present-day Slovakia (since 1993) shows the importance of this city over many eras that have left their economic and cultural marks. The importance of this city and its close connection to Vienna formed and developed administrative, cultural and economic structures centuries ago. As the centre of Slovakia, all the important political and cultural institutions are located in the capital city.

Bratislava is situated in the border triangle of Slovakia, Austria and Hungary and is only 62 kilometres from the Czech border. No other capital city in the world has such proximity to its neighbours. Three quarters of the city lie in the lowlands on the Danube, the remaining quarter in the foothills of the Carpathian Mountains. The continental climate gives dry, warm summers. From May to September daytime temperatures of about 20°C are common.

The capital city with around 410,000 inhabitants over approx 367km² offers many possibilities for tourists. The old town with its cultural institutions, the Danube, the parks and the lakes offer exciting, varied and interesting opportunities all year round.

Bratislava has always been economically significant. After the political change in the late 1980s, it quickly attracted major multinational companies. This development is supported by the local universities that attract many international service and high-tech companies.

Bratislava in der Slowakei

Bratislava / Kreis Bratislava / Bezirk Bratislava / Slovakai

Kelten, Römer, Awaren, Deutsche, Magyaren, Juden und Slowaken waren die prägendsten Ethnien in der Geschichte der slowakischen Hauptstadt Bratislava. Die wechselhafte Geschichte als Hauptstadt des Königreichs Ungarn (1536-1783 und 1848), als Hauptstadt der ersten slowakischen Republik (1939-1945), als Hauptstadt der slowakisch-sozialistischen-Republik (SSR 1968), der CSSR (1990-1992) und schließlich als Hauptstadt der heutigen Slowakei (seit 1993) zeigen die besondere Bedeutung dieser Stadt in vielen Epochen, die ihre wirtschaftlichen und kulturellen Spuren hinterlassen haben. Die Bedeutung dieser Stadt und ihre Nahe Anbindung nach Wien ließen schon vor Jahrhunderten administrative, kulturelle und wirtschaftliche Strukturen entstehen und sich entwickeln. Als slowakisches Zentrum finden sich in der Hauptstadt alle wichtigen politischen und kulturellen Institutionen.

Bratislava liegt unmittelbar im Dreiländereck Slowakei-Österreich-Ungarn und nur 62 Kilometer von der tschechischen Grenze entfernt. Eine derartige Nähe zu Ihren Nachbarn weißt keine andere Hauptstadt der Welt auf. An der Donau liegend sind Dreiviertel der Stadt im Tiefland und das letzte Viertel auf den Ausläufern der Karpaten. Das Kontinentalklima bereitet trockene und warme Sommer. Von Mai bis September sind Tagestemperaturen von über 20° üblich.

Als Reiseziel bietet die ca. 410.000 Einwohner zählende Hauptstadt auf ca. 367 km² viele Möglichkeiten. Die Altstadt mit ihren kulturellen Einrichtungen, die Donau, die Parkanlagen und die Seen erlauben zu jeder Jahreszeit ein spannendes, abwechslungsreiches und interessantes Programm.

Wirtschaftlich war Bratislava schon immer bedeutsam. Nach der politischen Wende Ende der 80iger Jahre des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts zog dies auch schnell wieder wichtige multinationale Unternehmen an. Unterstützt wird diese Entwicklung durch die am Ort befindlichen Universitäten, die heute viele internationale Dienstleistungs- und Hightech-Unternehmen anziehen.