Istanbul in Turkey

13.1 million inhabitants in the urban settlement area and a further 10 million in the immediate surrounding areas show the extraordinary significance of Istanbul for Turkey and Europe. This makes it the most populated city in Turkey and is the only metropolis in the world spread over two continents. The Bosphorus divides the city into European and Asian sections. Istanbul is the pre-eminent centre for culture, trade, finance and media in the eastern Mediterranean. The 39 districts of Istanbul are spread over approx. 1,800km². There are major airports, railway stations and transit routes for international logistics management on both sides of the strait between Europe and Asia.

Istanbul’s over 2600-year-old history has been influenced by ethnicities and religions. The Greeks, Romans, Byzantines, Ottomans and Turks have all left their architectural and cultural marks. The old town is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

This vibrant, cosmopolitan city has much to offer all visitors. The landscape, architecture, culture, Mediterranean food and history provide a whole host of reasons to visit the city and its surroundings.

Istanbul in der Türkei

13, 1 Mio. Einwohner im städtischen Siedlungsgebiet und weiteren 10 Mio. Einwohnern im unmittelbaren Umland zeigen die außerordentliche Bedeutung Istanbuls für die Türkei und Europa. Sie ist damit die Bevölkerungsreichste Stadt der Türkei und liegt als einzige Metropole der Welt auf zwei Kontinenten. Der Bosporus teilt die Stadt in einen europäischen und einen asiatischen Teil. Istanbul ist das überragende Zentrum für Kultur, Handel, Finanzen und Medien im östlichen Mittelmeerraum. Auf ca. 1.800 km² verteilen sich die 39 Stadtteile Istanbuls. Beidseitig der Meerenge zwischen Europa und Asien befinden sich bedeutende Flughäfen, Bahnhöfe und Transitwege für die internationale Logistikabwicklung.

Die mehr als 2600 jährige Geschichte Istanbuls wurde von Ethnien und Religionen geprägt. Griechen, Römer, Byzantiner, Osmanen und Türken hinterließen architektonisch und kulturell ihre Spuren. Die Altstadt ist ein UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe.

Diese pulsierende Weltstadt bietet jedem Besucher ein interessantes Programm. Landschaft, Architektur, Kultur, mediterranes Essen und Geschichte bieten vielfache Gründe die Stadt und ihr Umland zu besuchen.