Cheb in the Czech Republic

Cheb / Karlovy Vary Region / Bohemia / Czech Republic

Cheb (formerly Eger) has been influenced historically by its location right on the present German-Czech border. The city of around 33,000 inhabitants over a surface area of approx. 9.6km² is influenced by its long history. Today, Cheb, in the middle of the three world-renowned spa-towns of Karlovy Vary (Karlsbad), Marianské Lázně (Marienbad) and Františkovy Lázně (Franzensbad), is a gateway from Western to Central Europe.

The long and eventful history has left many traces in Cheb and its surroundings. Many sights, often the background of historical events and important people, are now renovated and mostly accessible to the public. The castles, churches and the countryside (Cheb municipal forest) attract tourists to relax and immerse themselves in the history of the region.

Economically, Cheb is now an important link between Central and Western Europe. Its favourable infrastructural situation quickly led to the establishment of Western European companies after the fall of the communist Eastern Bloc (E 48 motorway links to Prague, Bratislava and Budapest; E49 motorway from Chemnitz to Vienna via Plauen; Rail link from Bayreuth to Prague to Moscow). At the same time, Cheb is a European-influenced, open and dynamically developing border city.

Cheb in Tschechien

Cheb / Bezirk Karlsbad / Böhmen / Tschechische Republik

Cheb (vormals Eger) ist geschichtlich durch die unmittelbare Lage an der heutigen deutsch-tschechischen Grenze geprägt. Die Stadt mit ca. 33.000 Einwohnern auf ca. 9,6 km² ist durch ihre lange Geschichte beeinflußt. Heute ist Cheb inmitten des Drei-Bäder-Ecks Karlovy Vary (Karlsbad), Mariánské Lázně (Marienbad) und Františkovy Lázně (Franzensbad) ein Tor von West- nach Mitteleuropa.

Die lange und wechselhafte Geschichte hat viele Spuren in Cheb und ihrer Umgebung hinterlassen. Viele Sehenswürdigkeiten, oft Hintergrund von geschichtlichen Ereignissen und bedeutender Persönlichkeiten sind heute wieder hergerichtet und zumeist öffentlich zugänglich. Die Burgen, die Kirchen und die Landschaft (Egerer Stadtwald) laden zum Verweilen und dem Eintauchen in die Geschichte der Region ein.

Wirtschaftlich ist Cheb heute eine wichtige Schnittstelle zwischen Mittel- und Westeuropa. Ihre günstige infrastrukturelle Lage hat nach dem Fall des kommunistisch geprägten Ostblocks schnell zur Ansiedlung westeuropäischer Unternehmen geführt (Autobahnanbindung E 48 nach Prag, Bratislava und Budapest; Schnellstraße E49 von Chemnitz über Plauen nach Wien; Bahnverbindung von Bayreuth nach Prag, bis Moskau). Inzwischen ist Cheb eine europäisch geprägte, offene und sich dynamisch entwickelnde Grenzstadt.